Killarney u16 Girls beat Bruff to reach Munster League Final

 In Club

Words: Diarmuid O’Malley, Pics: Anne Gabbett

Played in front of a large crowd in Aghadoe, Killarney in a very wet afternoon, the girls from Killarney and Bruff played a very entertaining game of rugby.

Right from the start Killarney attacked Bruff, but the Bruff defensive line was very much up for the challenge and on a couple of occasions made some great try saving tackles.

In fairness to Killarney they kept playing good passing rugby in testing conditions and Bronagh Dorrian eventually forced her way over the line and duly converted her own try to make it 7-0 at the break.

The girls from Killarney stated off the  second half right where they left off, Marina Eager, Niamh Dorrian, and Ali O’ Donoghue made some very good weaving runs but again the Bruff tacking was of the highest standards.

Eventually Bronagh Dorrian got over the line for her second try following some good play by centre Holly O’Sullivan and Killarney now had a lead of twelve points.

Some excellent interplay by the outstanding Killarney back row, set up Clodagh Foley for the try of the day. Then with 15 minutes remaining on the clock the Killarney number 8, Ava O’Malley picked from the base of the scrum and dotted down for Killarney’s fourth try of the day which the Killarney captain Fia Whelan converted to put the tie out of the reach of Bruff.

The Killarney replacements added a lot to their team’s performance and Grainne Kennedy who had being introduced just after half time made a great break but was just denied by yet another great Bruff tackle.  Killarney now await the winners of the other semi-final between Ballincollig and Ennis.

The Killarney Team lined out as follows:

1) Annie O’Reilly

2) Ella Guerin Crowley

3) Molly Gabbett

4) Joanne O’Keefe

5) Jess O’Sullivan

6) Melissa Mc Carthy

7) Clodagh Foley

8) Ava O’Malley

9) Robyn Landers

10) Fia Whelan (Capt)

11) Ali O’Donoghue

12) Bronagh Dorrian

13) Holly O’Sullivan

14) Niamh Dorrian

15) Marina Eager

16) Miriam O’Sullivan

17) Isabella O’Leary

18)  Grainne Kennedy

19) Lucy O’Sullivan

20)  Nell Moore

21)  Kate Mangan

Coaches:  Diarmuid O’Malley, Josh Whelan

Manager: Anne Gabbett



Recent Posts

Start typing and press Enter to search